Hi there, everybody.

As you can see if you go through the post history, I have not added any new content here for over a year. That’s sad. Very sad. So many exciting things have happened, and I’ve kept it all to myself. Well, truthfully, what happened was junior year. It was really tough. And in the time that I had off I didn’t feel like writing. At all. Which is why nothing happened on this blog this summer. I was lazy and played Civ 4 all day, or else worked. Hopefully, these lulls are in the past. Senior year is much better workload wise, and I feel like writing again. Of course, the more feedback I get, the more motivation I have to keep content coming. So please, subscribe if you like the blog (even though I don’t have anything new yet!), and leave feedback with what you want me to write about. Ok, enough of that. So here’s some of the highlights for the past year:

UMass AMherst

I’ve been very busy at UMass Amherst, studying History. Hence why I fell off writing on my blog.

Cru

At UMass Amherst, I’ve been very active in Cru, formerly known as Campus Crusade for Christ. It’s hard to boil down how awesome this has been. I’ve met lots of really neat people from very different backgrounds, and have grown so much in my faith.
In addition to weekly meetings and Bible study, some of the other cool things I’ve done are:
Big Break – Incredible. This year’s spring break I went with a bunch of Mass Five College (those are the five colleges in the Amherst area – UMass, Smith, Amherst, Hampshire, and Mt. Holyoke) Cru people, and shared the gospel on the beaches and strip malls at Panama City Beach, Florida. I received complete funding through various supporters who I am extremely grateful toward. I didn’t think I would be fully funded, but I trusted God and received more than enough. Down in Florida I was able to witness to countless people, I learned to be more engaging and open with people (nothing like witnessing to complete strangers to force you out of your shell!), and I experienced great spiritual growth.

Retreats/Conferences – I’ve gone on some really cool conferences and retreats. Last year I went to Fall Retreat up at Camp Spofford in New Hampshire (and I’m going again this year!), and over the winter break I went to a conference in Albany. A few weeks ago I went whitewater rafting up on the Kennebec River in Maine, and that was simply amazing – we hit one hole that was at least eight feet!

Work/Internships

At UMass Amherst, I work in Franklin Dining Hall. Over the summer, I worked for about a month on and off at Canyon Ranch in Lenox. June through August I did an extended internship at the Susan B. Anthony Birthplace Museum in Adams. Susan B. Anthony, the famous suffragist, was born in Adams and lived there for six years before her family moved to Rochester, New York.  The museum is the restored home of the Anthony family, plus a gift shop. I worked both as a docent and in the gift shop, and worked on a project for the museum’s traveling wall which goes all around the country.

So yes, I’ve been busy.

Until my next post,

Ken

