“… as His divine power has given to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him who called us by glory and virtue,by which have been given to us exceedingly great and precious promises, that through these you may be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.” 2 Peter 1:3-4

About two years ago, I started a series on Christian morality from a New Covenant perspective. I only made two posts, an intro and a piece on modesty. Since then, I’ve matured in my faith, matured in my writing, and matured in my approach. So I’m relaunching the series, starting with rewrites of those two old posts. Basically, this series will (hopefully) be a collection of essays on various practical topics about Christian behavior. I have no real schedule for this series, and no particular number of essays. Basically, I have some ideas in my head, and once I have jotted those down, it is all up to you, readers, to ask for a specific subject. But why am I doing this? Mainly because I want to write down my perspective on some moral issues and how we as Christians can live free from the world’s morality and rely on the Holy Spirit’s writing of Christ’s laws in our hearts. Through my writing, I hope to challenge you, as I myself am challenged, to examine your spiritual life through Scripture, and that the Holy Spirit will use this to draw you closer to Him.

In these essays, I will be examining the issues in question from a New Covenant perspective. Now, this intro will not tackle all aspects of what that theology is. If you want to know more, you can look at Wikipedia’s article on the subject, or take a look at John Piper’s article on the differences between New Covenant Theology, Covenant Theology, and Dispensationalism (big words, I know, which is why I won’t get into them here). Basically, New Covenant Theology (NCT) is a doctrinal view of God’s redemptive plan throughout history. It is based off the doctrines of grace, otherwise known as the five points of Calvinism. (I know, I know. More big words. Sorry. Look it up on Google or something.) But the doctrines of grace are shared by other theological perspectives. What makes NCT unique is that it believes that the old law of Moses, the Old Covenant was fulfilled by Christ, and that now all believers, Jewish background or Gentile background, are under a new law, or New Covenant, that is written in our souls by the Holy Spirit, and this law is the culmination, the final part, of God’s redemptive story for humanity. It is this law that we live under now on this Earth, and it is this law that we will live under in Heaven and the new Earth. And that law, just like the Mosaic law before it, could be summarized as love God with all you heart, soul, and mind, and love your neighbor as yourself. Okay, let’s get into more detail:

Under the Old Testament Law of Moses, every single aspect of Jewish life was regulated to the letter, and the slightest infraction required atonement. The Law was impossible to follow, and its whole purpose was to show the failure of fallen man to meet God’s standards, to show that no matter how hard they try, humankind cannot achieve righteousness on their own. The Israelites, out of all the people on Earth, were handpicked by God to be a special people with a special Law. On an entire planet of millions of people, God chose one, insignificant ethnic group in a small corner of Asia to be His special people. Except for a few specific, individual cases in the Old Testament, if a non-Israelite wished to come to God, they could only do so by joining Israel and following all of the Law. The whole point of Israel was that out of the whole world, they were chosen to be an example of how to live. Yet they messed up again and again, demonstrating that no one could live the way they were supposed to.

And that was the whole idea of the Law, to point to the coming of the Messiah. Jesus Christ was the only human in all history, past, present, and future, who kept all of the Law.(Mat. 5:17-18) In doing so, He was able to free His people and establish a new Law based on His work on the Cross. A Law that was free to everyone, a law that was no longer restricted to a specific ethnic people.(Gal. 3:28, Col. 3:11)

So, if you are a child of Christ, all of God’s wrath, anger, and hatred of sin was poured onto the Son on the cross.(Rom. 10:4) Christ suffered the full wrath of Hell so that we as wicked sinners could be free to follow Him. And now, according to 2nd Corinthians 3:3-6, Christians no longer live a list of rules but under the grace and conviction of the Holy Spirit. And it is with this freedom in mind that I plan to discuss the subjects of my essays. Instead of being legalistic and making a long list of specific actions that are wrong, I will instead attempt to examine basic moral principles found in the Scriptures. These articles represent the struggles, questions, and pitfalls I’ve encountered on my own spiritual journey, and I hope that they will challenge you, expose your brokenness, and drive you to Christ the way that researching them has driven me. Now, if you are not a Christian, the following essays are not intended for you, but if you do wish to continue and read them, then I pray that they will lead you to the Light and Comfort of the world, Jesus Christ. If you are a Christian, then I hope that my words will encourage you to live out your life in godliness.

