Hi there!

It’s been a while since I last posted. Basically, I just didn’t get around to posting anything during Winter Break, and I had some trouble logging on to my account the past few weeks.
My previous semester went very well, I ended up with a 4.0, which was better than I expected (I thought for at least one course I would have gotten an A-), but I’m certainly not going to complain!
What I did over break:
Played a lot of Civ 4 – the Fall from Heaven 2 and RFC Europe mods are VERY addicting, plus my brother was playing them too, which gave me an excuse.

Read the Hunger Games trilogy – excellent books. The writing at times wasn’t the best, but it certainly improves as the story goes on, and the ending to the third book was a little rushed and could have been tighter. However, apart from that, the story is great. It really captures what it would be like to go through gladiatorial-type combat, revolution, and war, and the author exerted a great deal of effort in trying to make things play out according to historical trends – basically, there’s no clear-cut good vs. bad, and things don’t always work out. The ending was good, but I couldn’t exactly “like” it – but that’s real life; you can never fully recover from tragedy.
Took a GRE – basically, college-level SATs. It took me 3 1/2 hours, with breaks, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought, and I did pretty well (and much better on the math portion than I thought I would do).

Went to Epicenter 2014 – An evangelism conference put on through Cru. That was amazing, the speakers really gave some practical advice about how to build understanding with people and engage with, not hide from, culture for the Gospel’s sake. The one speaker, Doug Pollock, even brought up two atheists on stage at one point to just interview them, have a dialogue, and listen to them tell their experiences. Sessions are available on Livestream here: http://new.livestream.com/CruEpicenter/events/2665731

So now I’m back in college and busy with my final undergraduate semester. It should be an exciting few months!

