“How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!” – Psalm 119:103

Last week, I mentioned that we can taste and see that the Lord is good – we can experience God in a tangible way. But I also mentioned that we also will encounter periods of dryness, where we don’t seem to feel and enjoy God. What I did not get into very much is how we experience and enjoy God.

As they did for encountering God himself, the Psalms explain the idea of how we know God in a beautiful, palpable way – just as we taste of God, we taste of his Words. If God tastes good, would his words not also taste good?

For the majority of the time, I take God’s Word for granted. I can look it up at pretty much anytime I want on a computer, or read it in a printed form. Yet these are the words of the very Creator of the Universe! The wielder of infinite power, a great Author, a Being beyond anything we can imagine, has revealed himself using human language, through broken and imperfect people. Why would we treat that casually?

If we want to taste of God, we should read what he has to say about himself. If you wanted to know more about someone you love, would you not listen to what they have to say? Would you not read what they have written to you? I’ll finish this post with a quote from the rapper Lecrae, in the autobiographical song “Prayin’ for You:” “I pray he’ll open up the sixty-six book love letter You wrote and soak it up / Cause he ain’t hearing You”

