I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” Phil. 4:13

This is probably one of the most misquoted passages in the Bible. Out of context, it seems to say that God will give you the strength to accomplish anything. And that’s not entirely wrong. But the verse isn’t talking about your next running match or gym competition. The fuller passage reads:

“But I rejoiced in the Lord greatly that now at last your care for me has flourished again; though you surely did care, but you lacked opportunity. Not that I speak in regard to need, for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content: I know how to be abased, and I know how to abound. Everywhere and in all things I have learned both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. Nevertheless you have done well that you shared in my distress.”

What Paul is talking about here isn’t really physical ability, but spiritual and emotional strength. In his walk with God, he has learned to be content. Whether praised or ridiculed, hungry or satisfied, needy or well-off, he has learned to be contented with his circumstances. God could have us win a game, but he might also have us lose. What he has promised is that we will always have the spiritual and emotional stamina to see us through if we trust in him.

